Do you believe what you say you believe?

My boss told me a story yesterday about taking his wife camping.  They heard that there were bears in the woods and that scared her.  He tried to reassure her, saying “What’s the worst that could happen?  One could eat you and you would go to Heaven!”  But her response was, “I’m not afraid of dying.  I’m afraid it will tear my face off and I’ll survive and have to live with no face!”

Do you believe what you say you believe?  The greatest method of fighting fear is to consider the outcome.  If your plane crashes, you’ll go to Heaven.  But what about the day-to-day stuff?  Housing, job, free time, relationships?

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which also we eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ; who will transform the body of our humble state into conformity with the body of His glory, by the exertion of the power that He has even to subject all things to Himself.

– Phil 3.20-21

Do you live in your house as though your true home is in Heaven?  When I was in grad school, I knew that I was moving overseas in just a year or two.  I did not buy furniture, I did not invest in nice things, I saved my money and used the old leftover belongings my parents and friends had.  But as soon as I arrive overseas, I bought new furniture and furnishings.  I planned on living there forever.  Do you invest your time, energy and money in your house here or in your eternity?

How about relationships?  Do you believe that Jesus is all satisfying and that the goal of life is to glorify Him, and ultimately enjoy Him forever in eternity?  If so, do you talk about Him in your relationships?  Is it important to you that the people you know and love know Him too?  Does your heart break for those who do not yet know Him?

Is your treasure in Heaven or on Earth?  Do your actions and lifestyle prove that your treasure is in Heaven?  Are you eagerly awaiting Christ’s return?

Leave a Reply

