Not one sparrow will fall to the ground apart from God.

When I was a little girl, my family lived on the edge of the city of Philadelphia.  Our yard was full of full grown evergreen and maple trees that towered over our house.  Every year the starlings would nest in our trees, and many times baby birds would fall out of the nest.  Being an avid animal lover and having a curiosity about pirates, I would rescue those baby birds.  I had found a robin’s nest that I kept on my windowsill.  I would go out and hunt worms to feed my baby birds, and take care of them until they were big enough to learn how to fly and return to the wild; my back yard.  I loved those birds!  As they grew, I would train them to sit on my shoulder and I would pretend to be a pirate, standing outside waiting for my dad to come home from work.

“Are not two sparrows sold for a cent? And yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father.  But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  So do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.”

– Matt 10.29-31

I vividly remember reading that passage one morning, and immediately going to visit a church with some friends in Cleveland, OH.  While we were standing and singing the first song of the service, I looked out of the window and saw a squirrel running down the trunk of a tree.  The reality hit me right then, God is overseeing and ordaining the movements and life of that fluffy brown squirrel.  My mind then raced back to those starlings falling out of their nests – God was sovereign over every single little bird that fell and giving me the chance to care for them.  He numbers the steps of even the animals that no one will ever see!  Not one sparrow or starling will fall to the ground apart from God.

And you are much more valuable than many sparrows!  God knows the number of hairs on your head.  He loves you, He created you, and He is in sovereign control of your life.  Whatever situation in which you find yourself today, God has established it for your growth and for His glory:

The mind of man plans his way,
But the Lord directs his steps.

– Prov 16.9

There is no greater comfort for me than to know that God has everything under control.  Everything that has happened in my life and your’s is a part of His glorious, eternal and perfect plan.  And it is in this confidence and comfort that Jesus can exhort us,

“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

– Matt 6.34

God knows our needs.  In fact, he gave us those needs.  And He promises to care for His children to bring about our sanctification (Matt 6.8, 32).  He may not give you what you think you need, and He may not give you what you want.  But He will cause your path to bring you to the end that He has foreknown and established for you before the foundation of the world (Eph 1.4).

Enjoy Him today.  Trust Him.  Let the words of this Psalm be your prayer back to Him as you relinquish your desire for control over your life:

O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
You understand my thought from afar.
You scrutinize my path and my lying down,
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O Lord, You know it all.
You have enclosed me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is too high, I cannot attain to it.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,
And the light around me will be night,”
Even the darkness is not dark to You,
And the night is as bright as the day.
Darkness and light are alike to You.

For You formed my inward parts;
You wove me in my mother’s womb.
I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Wonderful are Your works,
And my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;
Your eyes have seen my unformed substance;
And in Your book were all written
The days that were ordained for me,
When as yet there was not one of them.

Psalm 139.1-16

starlings

Leave a Reply

