And I still haven’t found what I’m looking for.

U2 released this song in 1987 which quickly became a #1 single in the US and around the world, and because of its musicality and message of spiritual uncertainty, the song has been voted by many critics and publications as one of the greatest tracks in music history.  The lyrics are dynamic and characteristic of Generation X, Y and Millennials:

I have climbed highest mountain
I have run through the fields
Only to be with you
Only to be with you

I have run
I have crawled
I have scaled these city walls
These city walls
Only to be with you

But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

I have kissed honey lips
Felt the healing in her fingertips
It burned like fire
This burning desire

I have spoke with the tongue of angels
I have held the hand of a devil
It was warm in the night
I was cold as a stone

But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

I believe in the kingdom come
Then all the colors will bleed into one
Bleed into one
Well yes I’m still running

You broke the bonds and you
Loosed the chains
Carried the cross
Of my shame
Of my shame
You know I believed it

But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

Are you content just asking questions?  Or are you looking for the truth?  This comic is long, but insightful.

a day at the park

It is very cool these days to be a seeker.  Philosophicals like to ask questions, ponder the meaning of life and study what insight cultures around the world might have that we lack here in the states.  But there is often a strong disinterest in finding answers to these questions.  It is even argued at times that it would be audacious or impossible to answer these huge questions of life and reality.  Scripture prophesies this phenomenon:

“But realize this, that in the last days difficult times will come.  For men will be lovers of self, lovers of money, boastful, arrogant, revilers, disobedient to parents, ungrateful, unholy, unloving, irreconcilable, malicious gossips, without self-control, brutal, haters of good, treacherous, reckless, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, holding to a form of godliness, although they have denied its power; avoid such men as these.  For among them are those who enter into households and captivate weak women weighed down with sins, led on by various impulses, always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.”

– 2 Tim 3.1-7

It is good to have and ask questions.  It is by examining life, the world around us and Scripture that we learn, grow and come to know God Himself more intimately.  However, we should never hold on to a question so tightly that we would prefer it to not be answered for the sake of being thoughtful, philosophical or a seeker.  Because while God’s ways are not our ways, His thoughts not our thoughts,  “God is not a God of confusion” and has given us His word for us to know Him and to love Him (Is 55.8-9, 1 Cor 14.33).  Jesus Christ is the way, the Truth and the life, and He is the only way to God and eternity with Him (John 14.6).  Ask Him.  And if you want to know the Truth, the real and only answer, you will find Him.  And love Him.  And cherish Him.

It is interesting to me that in the litany of sins that Paul outlines here, the first few are normal marks of the world: “lovers of self, lovers of money, boastful, arrogant, revilers, disobedient to parents, ungrateful, unholy, unloving, irreconcilable, malicious gossips, without self-control, brutal, haters of good, treacherous, reckless, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God”.  But then he makes a statement that grabbed my attention:  “holding to a form of godliness, although they have denied its power”.  Paul, in other places, makes the assessment that the Word of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing (1 Cor 1.18).  He says that The Gospel is spiritually discerned and that those who do not have the Spirit cannot understand it (1 Cor 2.14).  But the benefits of obeying the mandates of Scripture are far reaching, and in a society where morality is valued and faith not persecuted, we are plagued with nominal, fake Christians.  These people hold to a form of godliness, but are not of God.  They have denied His power that would transform them into a new creation: cause them to die to sin and live unto God.

Therefore, to avoid such temptations, let us be satisfied with and embrace the answers of Scripture, being transformed by its powers.  Let us be humble and meek to offer God’s Truth and not our own understanding when interacting with others who have questions to which we have the answers.  Let us push one another on to maturity.  Let us dig deep!  Because the deeper a foundation is laid, the more highly we can build.

I have found what I’m looking for.  Have you?

Leave a Reply

