We just won’t tell them about Jesus.

My family has a saying that we regularly quote and and about which we laugh.  When my sister was three or four years old, my Dad took her for a walk/ride in the cemetery close to where we lived.  Dad was walking and my sister was riding her tricycle, complete with an “ooga horn”.  You remember the horn, the one that has a bulb on the back of it, and when you squeeze it, it goes “ooga”.

horn

Upon entering the cemetery, my sister left her tricycle and they were walking through the grave stones looking at people’s life stories when a group of teenagers came walking through the cemetery as well.  When passing by the tricycle, one of the teenagers squeezed the bulb on the horn, and my sister heard her horn going off and looked to see what was happening.  She got upset that someone had honked her horn and asked Dad to do something about it.  Dad explained that there was no harm done, but my three year old sister wanted revenge, and decided that the best solution was “I know, let’s not tell them about Jesus”!

Have you ever thought about the true meaning of some of our profanities and curse words/phrases?  I hear “God damn it/you” so often, that I have to think people do not truly comprehend the depth of what they are saying.  “You cut me off on the highway; I hope God sends you into an eternity of pain and suffering – an eternal fire – where there is no hope of relief.”  Or, “Your dog went to the bathroom in my yard and I stepped in it, I hope you spend eternity in judgment and misery separated from God and everyone/everything that you love”.

Really?

Is there truly anyone in your life upon which you would wish such a fate?

Apparently my sister did, at such a young age.  But at least she had a grasp on the implications of not knowing about Jesus, His gift of salvation, and the fact that salvation is in Him alone.  And this was the worst thing that she could do to someone:  to withhold the hope of salvation from them.

Jesus’ purpose in coming to Earth was to glorify God by saving sinners.  “I have come to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke 19.10).  “I have come that they might have life, and have it abundantly” (John 10.10).

Jesus’ purpose in leaving us on the Earth was to make take His teaching to the world, to make disciples of all nations:

 “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

– Matt 28.19-20

Do you live purposefully to fulfill that calling upon your life?  Because that is the calling on anyone’s life who is a believer.  This is not an extra calling that only some, or that “super Christians” experience to missions.  This is the call of Christianity: to make Jesus’ name known.  This does not mean that everyone is called to leave life and land for the purpose of foreign missions, but it does mean that we are all to be intentional about making disciples.  Everyday.  Everywhere.  All the time.  And it starts with me!  I have to be a disciple to teach others to follow Him.  I have to be mature to teach others to be mature.  I have to know and obey all that Jesus commanded in order to be able to help someone else to know and obey all that Jesus commanded.  But you do not have to have all of the answers before you start.  It is a domino effect, there is a fluidity of growth:

“The things which you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses, entrust these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also.”

– 2 Tim 2.2

I learn from my mentor (and pastor, and friends, and church).  And I pour into younger, newer Christians than myself, and teach/expect them to do the same.  I am one link of the chain.  For the purpose of maturity (Heb 6.1).

Does this mark your life?  Because if not, you are in action saying, “I just won’t tell them about Jesus”.  If you have the hope of eternity in your heart and you look on another human being and do not offer him the hope of eternal life, the gift of forgiveness, you are in action saying, “God damn you”.  Or “I don’t care if you spend eternity in Hell.”

Let’s care.  Let’s tell them.

2 comments on “We just won’t tell them about Jesus.

  1. Sharing Jesus often has much more to do with how we live and love than how often we mention His name to others. In fact, we can often turn folks away from Him by talking too fast and not listening to the hearts of others and letting Him lead our words of love. There are many souls who have been pushed away from salvation because of overzealous Christians who by their own efforts and understanding try to save others. The enemy can use our ego-driven attempts to be spiritual heroes to sabotage our success. Living the life of love as described by Him will naturally open others up to His Voice and sharing Him will be an effortless extension of our love… and will reach the hearts of others without obstruction.

    Thank you for this wonderful & thought provoking post! ❤

  2. Amen!!!! Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

