Have you ever analyzed your prayers?

“Have you ever analyzed your prayers?  You pray, ‘God give me more love for so-and-so.’  The Bible says the ‘love of God has been poured out within our hearts’ (Rom 5.5).  You say, ‘God, I need more grace.’  God says that the grace He has already given you is sufficient (2 Cor. 12.9).  You cry, ‘Oh Lord, I need more strength.’  The Bible says you ‘can do all things’ through Christ who strengthens you (Phil 4.13).  ‘Oh God, guide me,’ you say.  But He has already given you His all-sufficient Word to light your path (Ps 119.105).

– John MacArthur

A friend of mine gave me a book a few weeks ago, called “Found: God’s Will” by John MacArthur.  It is a short read and I highly recommend it to anyone struggling with how to know God’s will.  In this passage where he discusses prayer, he also spends a bit of time observing our continual request for the Spirit’s presence, for God to come and join us at Church or whenever we feel as though we need Him.  But then he quotes Rom 8.9:  “If anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Him.”  We always have the Spirit.  God is omnipresent (He is everywhere).  We do not need to ask Him to come.  Rather, we need to observe Him at work around us and praise Him.

I so often get wrapped up in my list of prayer requests that I forget the promises given to every believer.  I focus on  the never-ending list of “want-needs” that I forget to reflect and rejoice in the glory of God all around me.  I forget to count all things as loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Him.  I forget that He has a perfect plan and is causing all things to work together for my good.  Let us analyze our prayers and weigh them against Scripture.  Let us honor and praise God instead of continually approaching Him as our cosmic mend-all or genie bottle.  Let us count our blessings, and rejoice greatly with joy inexpressible and full of glory!

One comment on “Have you ever analyzed your prayers?

  1. dwdj05 says:

    That was mindblowing! Incredible Post!! I had a moment embracing and thanking Jesus for everything He’s already given to me. I lack nothing! God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

