God Is In Control

The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.

- Prov 16.1

Commit your works to the Lord and your plans will be established.

- Prov 16.3

The Lord has made everything for its own purpose, even the wicked for the day of evil.

- Prov 16.4

The mind of man plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.

- Prov 16.9

The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord.

- Prov 16.33

As I typed the title for this post, the old Twyla Paris song jumped into my mind.  But this morning I have been reflecting on the weight and beauty of Proverbs 16.  If you ever need a reminder of God’s sovereignty and provision, just settle in that chapter.  What is so amazing to me in this passage is the tension that we feel in daily life:  I truly feel as though I am making my own decisions, or that decisions are being enacted over me – but “every decision is from the Lord” (16.33).

I might encounter a situation and react, but “the answer of [my] tongue is from the Lord”(16.1)!  I might think that I am planning my path, my route, my life, whatever – but “the Lord direct [my] steps” (16.9).  And the most effective encouragement in my life is that “every decision is from the Lord” (16.33).  The Scriptures show us regular examples of people casting lots (rolling dice)  to determine the will of the Lord.  We can certainly use logic, discernment, and educated decision making processes, but V. 33 tells me that even if I throw dice, flip a coin or “pick a hand” to make a decision, the Lord is in control of that decision!

He has a perfect plan for my life to result in His glorification, a plan to sanctify me and to establish my path.  Do you trust Him to that end?  Or are you pushing back, imagining that you are in control?  Let us trust Him.

Leave a Reply

